Travel Blog: Summer 2015 Public Health Work in Chicuque, Mozambique

Check out the Travel Blog of our amazing MPH/MSN student, Joshua Littlejohn.  He is working in Mozambique with Y-Center, a social innovation company that operates in Mozambique and India, for 12 weeks during the summer of 2015. The larger project that he is a part of is called Connect The Dots and is an SMS text-based system for disease reporting and supply inventory designed to connect community health workers (CHWs) with the central Ministry of Health. Josh’s project will be to work with the CHWs and local resources to create new visual media for use in education campaigns. These materials should be low-cost, easily reproducible, low-tech, and locally relevant.

He just uploaded his 2nd post: Map to Nowhere


 

First, I’ll give the basic run down of my week and then we’ll talk about some of the more existential stuff, that’s the fun part anyway. My week is pretty structured for not having a formal schedule or anything. Since I can’t sleep with all this friggin sunlight (hey, I’ve almost only ever worked night shifts, even before I was a nurse) I get up between 6 something and 7 something every morning, even without an alarm clock. My bucket bath in the morning is a great eye-opener and by the time I’m done with that I *almost* don’t need coffee… almost…

This week was the first actual week of work since Dr. Arlindo (the director of CoH) was back from Maputo (the capital) and the three missionaries were in the office. Actually, I think only two of them, Rose and Elfie, are missionaries and the third woman, Pastor Marcia, is local and works for Dr. Arlindo. Elfie is a nurse and Rose did a degree in health sciences and management. They are with the Methodist Church and Rose does the accounting and such for projects while Elfie works on developing the health projects that CoH conducts.

They get here between 7:30 and 8:30 and we have a small breakfast together usually. I’ve most likely had two cups of coffee by that point. Dhairya and I take our stuff into the work room down the hall on the work-side of CoH and make camp for the day at the collection of tables down there. I’ve been working on prototypes of the materials and gathering information about the area, thinking about the realities of life here, and how best to integrate what little information I have collected so far into some sort of meaningful messages.

UNISAF Y Center Banner

UNISAF Y Center Banner. The inside of the University. It is basically a giant O shape/square

Maria, who works at CoH in a general-help kind of position, usually puts out a small lunch of bread and cheese, tea, and maybe some boiled eggs. We eat together and chat a bit, then back to work and maybe a meeting with either Dr. Arlindo or the public health team (PHT – Elfie, Rose, and Pastor Marcia) The official work day ends about 3:00 and they actually kick us out of the work-side of CoH so that Manuel (Maria’s counterpart) can lock everything up. Sometimes he’s a bit over zealous and locks things up like the silverware … or dishes… lol.

I’m most likely not done doing whatever it was that I was working on, so I move back to my room and use the desk in there to work some more. I’ve thoroughly spread myself out over the entire room and used every surface that I could. In fact, I’d probably go crazy if there was another person in here with me to share the space… it’s been a long time since those undergrad years when I actually had to share a *room* with someone (not just an apartment).

UNISAF Y Center Banner1

UNISAF Y Center Banner1 UNISAF. The University in Maxixe that we work with sometimes.

I’ve taken a few afternoon trips

 

Leave a Reply

